The Cassidy Chronicles

by Adam Gaffen

Book Description


It’s a post-modern America; shattered into a dozen smaller, squabbling nations. The plot centers on Aiyana Cassidy and Kendra Foster-Briggs. Aiyana – Cass – is a genius physicist who has stumbled upon a technology that will revolutionize the world. Kendra’s her best friend from high school who, a dozen years later, has come back into her life. She seems to be a retired actress, but she has secrets. Those secrets might just save their lives, as Cass is nearly assassinated at her wedding and they’re off on a cross-continental journey to find answers. Volume Two, which is set five years later, is The Road to the Stars. They’re both working towards their dreams – Cass perfecting her invention, Kendra egging on the development of the world’s first starship – and raising their daughters when they’re approached desperate politicians from within the successor to the United Nations. They believe that Cass & Ken’s skills and resources can avert a global catastrophe, and so they’re pulled into an interplanetary conflict they didn’t even know existed. This time, the stakes are higher, the challenges are greater, and the surprises just keep coming! Volume Three, The Measure of Humanity, picks up a few months after the end of Volume Two. The conflict has cooled as both sides reassess and rebuild, but the opposition hasn’t forgotten about Kendra. They’ll go to any length to destroy what she’s been building. Will they succeed? Or will they, once again, outwit and outsmart the opposition? Volume Four is A Quiet Revolution. How do you end a war you want no part of?
Cass and Ken just want to get back to their plans for exploration.
That doesn’t seem to be in the cars, though, so now it’s time to think outside the box.
If the leaders of Artemis won’t listen, maybe it’s time for new leaders.
New tools, new crews, new challenges, but the same Cass and Ken: they’re not going to let anything stop them!
Triumph’s Ashes, Volume 5, picks up immediately after Volume 4 ends, with Davie still looking for more coffee. The Federation has definitely gained the upper hand, with division, rebellion, on Luna, four starships, and a full wing of fighters. But you know what they say about rats and corners, and the Primus has been backed into a challenging one. She’s not going to let her personal fiefdom slip away easily, so Aiyana, Kendra, and the rest of their companions need to be even more alert to treachery. Otherwise triumph may yet slip away from them even as they’re on the cusp.


Check out the Review!

Review by Melissa Dalton Martinez

The Cassidy Chronicles by Adam Gaffen is a series of five books following two main characters, Aiyana and Kendra, on a fun, action-packed, dystopian adventure. The conclusion to the series, Triumph’s Ashes, comes out August 15th, but before you read the latest, I would recommend going back and starting chronologically with book one.

Volume one of The Cassidy Chronicles was nominated for multiple awards in 2020, including a Dragon Award, which speaks to the readability and captivating nature of this dynamic plot. The books are set in a dystopian, post-modern America, in 2113, to be exact. From the very beginning, the two protagonists, Aiyana and Kendra, also known as Cass and Ken, are immediately lovable and I could not help but to root for them right off the bat. Best friends since childhood, the story of their reconnection was sweet and the to start of a beautiful relationship.

The action and adventure kicks off from the jump when an assassin crashes their wedding day and sends them on the run, trying to find out who wants them dead and why. Throughout the series, Kendra and Aiyana remain committed best friends who care about each other and will do whatever it takes to keep one another safe.

The Cassidy Chronicles is for a general audience. This series is perfect not just for fans of science fiction and dystopian novels, but also for any reader who enjoys action and adventure and strong female characters. Each book averages around 500 pages, so anyone can jump into this series knowing that there is a lot to read and that the fifth book, Triumph’s Ashes, provides a satisfying conclusion. Each book is available in audiobook, eBook, and physical book. No matter what kind of reader you are, as long as you like action and adventure, futuristic science fiction, and strong female protagonists, you will love this series.